Singapore Day 3 (March 20, 2017)

After the seminar that day, I decided to check out some of the local music stores and then buy souvenirs to take home.

I went to a place called Peninsula Shopping Center, where you can find a lot of guitar shops (in the basement). I was fairly impressed, but not as impressed as I was when I saw Ochanomizu in Tokyo, Japan.

Here are some photos that I took while I was there:

As you can see from the photos, you can find some Hofners, Suhrs, PRS guitars, Fenders, and Gibsons. I bought some guitar parts at Davis Guitar and walked around after that until it was time for dinner.

I got to this spot and decided to have dinner at Coleman Street Food Centre:

22

The place was similar to a Filipino carinderia or eatery selling and serving viands. You choose the viands that you like, which will be served on a plate together with rice.  The price of the whole plate would then depend on the viands that you chose.

I had this plate for dinner:

23

One of the dishes (left) is pork and a hard-boiled egg braised in soy sauce and the other (right) is a spicy pork curry. The braised pork and egg is very much similar to the Filipino adobo, except that it has little, if not absolutely no vinegar. On the other hand, the pork curry was spicy and fragrant. Both of the dishes were delicious.

From the Peninsula Shopping Center, I took a cab to Bugis Street Market:

28

Here, you can find souvenirs, clothes, shoes, toys, bags, and other items at really cheap prices. There are some snack food shops as well, but I didn’t eat in any of them.

25

If you’re a Filipino or staying in the Philippines, think Greenhills Shopping Center. That was the first thing that I thought of when I got to the place.

After finishing up on my souvenir shopping, I checked the time and it was still pretty early. I decided to go to Clarke Quay:

31.jpg

Clarke Quay is home to various bustling restaurants and nightclubs:

32

Chris & Diana happened to be playing in one of the bars in Clarke Quay, so I decided to see them again:

33

I stayed for two (2) of their sets before deciding to finally call it a day. After watching Chris & Diana’s gig, I left the bar and took these pictures:

I took a cab back to Orchard Road. Before going to the hotel, I made a stop-over at Juz Food Court at Orchard corner Cavenagh Roads (for the second day in a row!) and had this amazing plate of satay:

41

These sticks of pork meat were very juicy and tender, and at the same time had a pleasant smokiness to them. The sauce had a very distinct peanut flavor and a bit too sweet for me. Nevertheless, it was still a great dish to end the day.

Leave a Reply

